EC Preps


With the season about to start in just a few days and all the scrimmages out of the way the very first Media Poll is out and the EastCounty is represented pretty well with a couple of teams making the top 10 and also a couple teams in the others receiving votes category. Taking the top spot is Helix who is the defending Open Division Champions and also finished last season as the number one team. The other team from the East in the top 10 are the Steele Canyon Cougars who won the Division II CIF Championship and also made a run to the State Championship which they claimed as well.

The last two teams from the East to garner votes but are in the others receiving category are the Granite Hills Eagles who lost in the semi-finals to Steele Canyon and also graduated quite a bit but return quite a bit and finally the defending Division IV Monte Vista Monarchs who move up to Division III and are one of the favorites to repeat as CIF Champions.

We will see what happens each and every week all the way to the CIF Finals as each team battles their way to the playoffs and that CIF Championship.



First-place votes in parenthesis
Points awarded on a 10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis
Rank;Team;2017;Points;2017 Final

1. Helix (14);12-1;262;1
2. Torrey Pines (3) ; 7-5; 236; 4
3. Cathedral Catholic (8) ;5-7; 2217; NR
4. Mission Hills (3);12-1; 198;2
5. Madison (1); 8-3; 189; 8
6. La Costa Canyon ;7-4*;130;NR
7. San Marcos;9-3; 106 ;3
8. Ramona ; 12-1; 96; 7
9. Eastlake ; 10-3; 51; 10
10. Steele Canyon; 10-4;34;6
* Includes forfeit loss

Others receiving votes: Lincoln (9-2, 1 first-place vote, 26 points), Carlsbad (6-6, 23 points), Oceanside (6-7, 21 points), Valley Center (9-2, 16 points), El Camino (8-6, 13 points), St. Augustine (7-4, 12 points), Granite Hills (10-3, 3 points), Otay Ranch (8-4, 3 points), Rancho Bernardo (6-6, 2 points), Southwest-El Centro (13-0, 2 points), University City (10-2, 2 points), Bishop’s (9-1, 1 point), Monte Vista (8-6, 1 point).

Voters: 30 sportswriters, sportscasters and officials from throughout the county – John Maffei (San Diego Union-Tribune); Terry Monahan, Don Norcross, Tom Saxe, Rick Hoff and Jim Lindgren (freelance writers); Paul Rudy and Brandon Stone (KUSI-TV); Adam Paul (; Ramon Scott (,;Bodie DeSilva (; Ted Mendenhall and Taylor Quellman (The Mighty 1090); Steve Brand (San Diego Hall of Champions); Troy Hirsch (Fox 5 San Diego); Rick Smith (; Jerry Schniepp, John Labeta. Ron Marquez and Carlton Hoggard (CIF San Diego Section office); Joe Heinz (Coordinator of Athletics, Sweetwater Schools); Raymond Brown (; Montell Allen (MBASports-SDFNL Magazine); Bob Petinak (1360 Radio); John Kentera and Braden Surprenant (97.3-FM The Fan); Steve Dolan (Mountain Country 107.9-FM); Jim Arnaiz, Mike Dolan and John Carroll (CIF Football Tournament Directors).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *