EC Preps



Adam Paul


No movement with the top three teams despite Helix who is ranked third just completely dominating Saint Augustine. However the convincing win didn’t move voters to move them above the Madison Warhawks who remained at the number two spot and had a bye last week.

The Mavericks of La Costa Canyon made the biggest jump this week as they moved all the way up from No. 8 to three places up to the No. 5 spot this week. The Bulldogs of Ramona flip flops with Bishop’s from No. 7 to No. 6. The Lincoln Hornets move up a couple of spots from being ranked No. 10 last week to the No. 8 spot this week. The team that also made a big move this week although its in the opposite direction was the El Camino Wildcats after their 36-14 loss to San Marcos dropped all the way from the 5 spot down to the 9 spot this week.

Making their debut in the poll this week are the Eastlake Titans who won pretty convincingly against East County teams the last two weeks. A couple weeks ago they defeated the Grossmont Foothillers and this past Friday they defeated the Valhalla Norsemen. They come in at the No. 10 spot.

The other East County team besides Helix to even be considered in the poll this week are the Christian Patriots who are in the others at the No. 13 spot. They are on the cusp of entering the poll and with anymore shakeup will definitely be in the top 10 sooner or later if they keep winning.





First-place votes in parenthesis

Points awarded on a 10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis

Rank;Team;Record;Points;Last Week

1. Mission Hills (23) ;5-0; 274;1

2. Madison (2); 4-0; 241; 2

3. Helix (3);3-1;239;3

4. San Marcos;5-0; 193 ;4

5. La Costa Canyon ;5-0;137;8

6. Ramona; 5-0; 134; 7

7. Bishop’s ; 4-0; 126; 6

8. Lincoln ; 4-1; 57;10

9. El Camino ; 3-2;  52;5

10. Eastlake ;4-1; 42; NR
Others receiving votes:  Carlsbad (3-2, 14 points), Torrey Pines (3-2, 13 points), Christian (4-0, 13 points), Valley Center (4-1, 2 points), Mira Mesa (4-0, 1 point), St. Augustine (2-3, 1 point), Point Loma (3-2, 1 point).

Voters: 28 sportswriters, sportscasters and officials – John Maffei (Union-Tribune), Terry Monahan, Don Norcross, Tom Saxe, Rick Hoff, Jim Lindgren (freelance writers),  Paul Rudy, Brandon Stone, Rick Willis (KUSI-TV), Adam Paul (, Ramon Scott (,  Bodie DeSilva (, Ted Mendenhall, Taylor Quellman (The Mighty 1090), Steve Brand (Hall of Champions), Troy Hirsch (Fox 5), Rick Smith (, Jerry Schniepp, John Labeta, Carlton Hoggard (CIF San Diego Section), Raymond Brown (, Montell Allen (MBASports-SDFNL Magazine), Bob Petinak (1360 Radio), John Kentera (Prep Talent Evaluator), Steve Dolan (Mountain Country 107.9-FM), Jim Arnaiz, Mike Dolan, John Carroll (CIF Football Tournament Directors).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *